June 7, 2013

  • Bojagi

    Don’t even ask me how to say that Korean word HA! But I made one this week for my friend who is having his wedding next month. Patrick married a pretty Korean girl named Hanna from Korea and they have had a time working at getting her OK’d to come live in the states. They meet in China while working at teaching English to classes there. That was the only way they could communicate at first was in Chinese. :) They have been married since last year in Korea but they wanted something for us here in the states to celebrate with them. She only could get a visitors visa for a short time at first so they were waiting for her immigration status to come through for her to live in the USA.

    I cannot wait for that wedding! It is going to be held in a castle in Alexandria NY. OMGoodness! A castle? Yep I said that right. They are a young couple but both graduated from college. Smart and educated they have a lot going for them.

     I used to babysit regularly for him back in Minnesota for his mom who is a doctor. I developed a very strong relationship with that whole family since I often accompanied them as a nanny to work, meetings, and conferences. Also on trips when she went to in the cities. His dad was a historian who taught me so much about the histories of the American Indians in the USA. I love them so much.

    The family came to my wedding and I had him as a ring bearer. :) So I want to see his wedding and reception since I am included on their small list of family and special friends only. WOW I felt so blessed when they said that to me.

    One of the things they are is very socially and environmentally aware. They asked we do not use gift wrap and would rather have gift cards in place of items since they travel a lot. I got to thinking about the Korean style of gift cloth wrappings called Bojagi.~Wiki linked.

    I had some fabric scraps of when I made a baby quilt years ago so I thought I would make a very small one for a gift card and a dreamcatcher (which I plan to make.)

    I came up with a cute adaptation.

     

    HA it looks like a dishcloth but it is really pretty in person.

    Here is what it looks like wrapped up….

     

    a small multicolored Burrito.

    HA!

    Sorry the pictures are so small but that was taken by my iphone.

    I cannot wait to give it and see what the bride thinks of my attempt. :)

    I will take pictures of that wedding and Castle so hopefully I can share them here before the last day.

     

     

     

     

Comments (4)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *